CMU journalism program receives rare accreditation

The Journalism Department at Central Michigan University has earned re-accreditation.

The Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communication is a national body that accredits around 120 schools.

A school must meet criteria in nine categories:

  1. Mission, governance and administration
  2. Curriculum and instruction
  3. Diversity and Inclusiveness
  4. Full-time and part-time faculty
  5. Scholarship: research, creative and professional activity
  6. Student Services
  7. Resources, facilities and equipment
  8. Professional and public service
  9. Assessment of learning outcomes

Dr. Jiafei Yin is the head of the journalism Department at CMU. She said the accreditation helps CMU stand out to prospective students.

“I think everybody can, marketing their program, say how good we are, but for us is an external independent reviewing body that says our program is good, rather than we are just saying we are good.”

Michigan State University is the only other school in the state that hold accreditation.

The accreditation is valid until 2020, then the school will have to reapply.